2016 Reading Resolutions

I wish that I could quit my job and read all of the time.  All day.  Every day.  Feed me intravenously.  Minimal sleep.  Nothing. But. Reading.

Thinking about all of the books I read in 2015 and, more importantly and regrettably, all of the books I didn’t read in 2015, is making me feel like I need to set some reading goals for the new year.  Here are some random ideas I have about reading in 2016.

  1.  I just finished Adam Johnson’s The Orphan Master’s Son (review coming soon) and it made me realize that I want to know everything about North Korea.  So… in 2016 I could read books in pairs.  One fiction book paired with one non-fiction book.  To that end, I got A Kim Jong Il Production and am probably going to read that next.
  2. Complete a book challenge like Book Riot’s Read Harder challenge.  What I like about this list is that it pushes me to read things that I may not read otherwise (a food memoir… ugh).
  3. Only read books by authors I have never read.
  4. Only read books that have won awards
  5. Read any book that anyone recommends to me (only read books that are recommended?).
  6. Only read books that were made into movies, then watch the movies too.
  7. Only read books written in the last 3 years.
  8. Only read books written more than 10 years ago.
  9. Only read books in series.
  10. Alternate – novel, nonfiction, short stories, repeat

In the end, I will probably keep doing what I’m doing.  Reading things that sound good, letting my mood and the vagaries of fate determine what I read and when I read it.  I will challenge myself to read more nonfiction perhaps, because that is an ongoing goal of mine.  I will not quit my job, both because I genuinely like it (despite the fact that it cuts into my reading time) and because I fear that without work to get me out of the house I would never leave my couch and my muscles would atrophy and I would end up like the future people in Wall-E drinking my big gulp from my motorized lazyboy.

So, instead… I resolve to keep reading books that sound interesting and funny and moving and enlightening.  I resolve to be part of a community of readers and writers, because yinz are inspiring.

What are your reading resolutions?

 

I am keeping on ongoing list of all of the books I have read in 2016 here.  Always looking for suggestions!

6 thoughts on “2016 Reading Resolutions

  1. Hi there! I just wanted to say that I really enjoyed your post. To say it is great (not just this post, all of yours!) is an understatement. You are really talented (:
    Because of how much I loved this post I had to check out your blog and I couldn’t help but follow you because your blog is both amazing and beautiful! I am so happy I came across your blog and I can’t wait to read more from you, so keep it up (:
    By the way this comment is towards all of your blog posts because they are all equally amazing and incredible (:

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Aww you are so welcome! You deserve all the praise and much more (: I understand that feeling, blogging is fun regardless of people reading. But rest assured I read your posts. Keep it up (:

        Like

Leave a Reply

