Heartbreaker by Maryse Meijer

It was a rough reading week.  I started out reading The Devourers by indra Das.  I thought I would love this book, but I found my eyes glazing over every time I sat down to read.  I would read a paragraph and then next thing I knew I was on reddit again.  It just couldn’t hold my attention.  So, as much as I hate to abandon a book, I put that one down.

Next, I read One Damned Thing After Another by Jodi Taylor.  I knew pretty early on that I didn’t love this book, but it was action packed and included enough suspense building segues (If I’d only known then what would happen that evening…) that I kept reading.  I was reading it on my kindle too, which always makes reading faster.  Why is that?  It isn’t just me, right?  Anyway, I read it.  As expected, I did not love it.  If there is one thing that really ticks me off, it is a time travel book that doesn’t follow its own rules.  If you can’t disrupt the timeline, then you can’t disrupt the fucking timeline!!!! Not in the past and not in the present either.  blargh.

So, I was getting discouraged and I really needed to have a good reading experience. Enter the short story.  Heartbreaker is a collection of 13 short stories featuring painfully vulnerable people. Some of them are kind, most of them are selfish, and all of them are beautifully depicted.  Maryse Meijer’s characters are depraved and frightening, but remarkably sympathetic for all that. Depraved and frightening are insufficient adjectives.   The English language may lack sufficient adjectives to describe these characters.  They are terribly fucked up individuals.  Arsonists, pedophiles, necrophiliacs, and more.  They are disgusting, but they are also insecure and raw and in pain.  Meijer’s stories leave me questioning my own character because I feel empathy for hers.

Read these stories, but do yourself a favor and spread them out.  Don’t read them all in one day.

 

I am keeping on ongoing list of all of the books I have read in 2016 here.  Always looking for suggestions!

One thought on “Heartbreaker by Maryse Meijer

Leave a Reply

