Stardust by Neil Gaiman

#BeatTheBacklist book 4
2017 book 4

Format: Print (hardcover) – the non-illustrated version
Length: 235 pages

Let me get all of my gushy ohmygod I love Neil Gaiman stuff out of the way right up front.  The man is brilliant and compassionate and funny and handsome and I love love love him. okay? okay. I read Stardust because as I may have mentioned, I’m kind of a fan, and I hadn’t read it before.  There was a movie made of this book that I haven’t seen.  Apparently it is 76% fresh, so I guess I’m going to have to check it out.

What It’s About…

Stardust is an old-timey tale of a young hero on a quest in the land of faerie. The town of Wall is situated on one side of, well, a wall.  On the other side of the wall lies Faerie.  Once every nine years the townspeople of Wall are permitted to pass through the sole opening in in the wall to attend a faerie market.

Tristran Thorn is a young man who thinks he was born in Wall, but in fact was not.  For love of a beautiful young girl he embarks on a wild adventure to collect a fallen star from the faerie lands.  Unbeknownst to him, he is not the only one seeking the fallen star.  Also unbeknownst to him, his destiny is entwined with other faerie folk.  Adventures and misadventures ensue and it all wraps up in a predictably happy ending.

What I Thought…

This book is not written in the style of other Gaiman books, but it is still undeniably Gaiman.  It is written in a victorian era fairytale style that lacks a bit of the edge present in his other works.  Still, it has hints of his characteristic darkness and wit that saves it from being just a floridly told love story.

Early on there is a hot and heavy sex scene that some parents may find to be a bit much for YA readers, but it is otherwise one of Gaiman’s more vanilla books.  A boy sets out on a journey to win his true love’s heart and in the end he does, just not in the way he envisioned.  It’s sweet and clever. It’s not profound, but I needed something light and lovely and this hit the spot.

This is book #4 of my #BeatTheBacklist challenge.  You can see other books on my TBR here.

One thought on “Stardust by Neil Gaiman

Leave a Reply

